Outside the Circle

Cindy Milstein

Weaker Than

532948_10153077510130407_3057045015663708840_n

 

“my heart is weak,” they replied

“mine too,” i echoed to no one, knowing no one will believe me

but it is so

so weak

weak from wanting

weak from wondering how hot turns to cold

to sudden distance

desire only in dreamworld

disappearance in this one

*  *  *

people take heart from me

time and again

big pieces, to carry forward

away

like a vending machine

as if I need none

do they think I have so much?

*  *  *

i am left

empty

more so, it seems

confused at why my heart is public property

do not confuse that me

paper

weight / wait

for real blood and tissue

left

stronger than

weaker still

*  *  *

If you want to get word when I put out new words, real or fictional, sign up at my blog, Outside the Circle, cbmilstein.wordpress.com. You can also follow me on Twitter at @CindyMilstein. Enjoy, share, reprint, post, tweet any of my writings as long as it’s free as in “free water” and “freedom.”

(Photo by Cindy Milstein, delicate life, 2014.)

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 11, 2015 by in Dispatches from Life, Uncategorized.
