Outside the Circle

Cindy Milstein

Picturing Death

934691_10151671439315407_57888529_n
Appreciating every moment and sensation on this picture-perfect Michigan spring day of May 9, watching my family, my self, and especially my dad welcome the calm of a picture-perfect death and an end to the ugly images of suffering. I suspect it will feel awful in the days and weeks and maybe years to come. But the empathy and tenderness of hospice is making the process of dying into a process of a life well lived.
I’m also appreciating being a Milstein. My youngest sister, who has had some of the hardest time coming to terms with this decision, mentioned that a cousin of my dad’s asked him this morning if he’d switch from “chicken soup” to “matzah ball soup” as his after-death signal to us whenever he needs to get in touch or be there for us. My dad gladly agreed, and she and I laughed at the thought of it.
* * *

If you’ve run across this blog post as a reposting somewhere, you can find other blog-musings and more polished essays at Outside the Circle, cbmilstein.wordpress.com. Share, enjoy, and repost — as long as it’s free as in “free beer” and “freedom.”

(Photo by Cindy Milstein, Stoneleigh Hospice, Lansing, Michigan, 2013)

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 10, 2013 by in Dispatches from Life.
