Outside the Circle

Cindy Milstein

Occupation in Philly, Day 35 (November 9)

To be filed in the “Not sure what to think of it” department, but crossing my fingers that this turns a cop into a “not cop”:

Ah, the strange new world marked by occupations and potential transformations. I just got the following email message from an AK Press collective member: “Cindy, I thought you would be interested to know that while I was tabling for AK at the New Orleans Bookfair last Saturday, a uniformed beat cop came up to the table. Some people kinda scattered, and the cop made eye contact and asked me, ‘Am I allowed to be here?’ I said, ‘Of course.’ That was weird. Anyway, after a bit of browsing, he picked up and bought a copy of [your] Anarchism and Its Aspirations.”

Multiplying inspiration:

On Facebook this morning, Paul Nadeau was inspired by my blog post of yesterday to write the following to a mutual friend of ours, thus inspiring me in turn–mutual aid in action: “Moments like this don’t just come around every couple years. Don’t wake up tomorrow and be teaching philosophy to shitty college kids, wishing you did more back in 2011. Realize how precious this is.”


Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 9, 2011 by in Dispatches from Occupy Philly.
